List of Faculty

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Bronx Community College

Full-time faculty
(scroll down for substitute lecturers and adjunct faculty)

Alpert, Louis     Professor

  • Office:     CP 318
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5415
  • Education:     Ed.D Fairleigh Dickinson University (1979)
  • Research Interest :     Surface Area

Antonakos, Evangelia     Assistant Professor

  • Office:     CP 308A
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5100 ext. 3410
  • Email address:     evangelia.antonakos@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2013)
  • Research Interests :     Mathematical Logic, Modal Logic

Apostolakis, Nikos     Associate Professor  (Department Chair)

  • Office:     CP 122
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5482
  • Email address:     nikolaos.apostolakis@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2001)
  • Research Interest :     Low Dimensional Topology

Bates, Madelaine     Professor 

  • Office:     CP 310
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5416
  • Email address:     madelaine.bates@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:      Ph.D. Columbia University (1978)
  • Research Interests :     Mathematics Education & Related Areas

Belilgne, Atlaw     Assistant Professor

  • Office:     GML 08
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5374
  • Email address:     atlaw.belilgne@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:      Ph.D. St. Louis University
  • Research Interests :     Geometry, Topology

Dias, Kealey     Assistant Professor

  • Office:     CP 121
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5030
  • Email address:     kealey.dias@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Technical University of Denmark (2010)
  • Research Interests :   Complex Analysis, Dynamical Systems

Donovan, Susan     Lecturer

  • Office:     CP 319
  • Office Phone:     (917) 635-1355
  • Email address:     susan.donovan@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     M.A. Mathematics, Hunter College, CUNY (2010)

Fang, Quanlei (Shelley)     Associate Professor

  • Office:     CP 301
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5100 ext. 3208
  • Email address:     quanlei.fang@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Virginia Tech (2008)
  • Research Interest :   Operator Theory and its Applications

Fernandez, Luis     Professor 

  • Office:     CP 301
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5100 ext. 3209
  • Email address:     luis.fernandez01@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Washington University in St. Louis (1997)
  • Research Interests :     Differential Geometry, Submanifolds, Harmonic Maps, Minimal Surfaces

Gouraige, Rony      Associate Professor  

  • Office:     CP 114
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5926
  • Email address:      rony.gouraige@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2006)
  • Research Interests :     Ring Theory
 

Hu, Yunchun     Assistant Professor

  • Office:     CP 121
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5250
  • Email address:    yunchun.hu@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:      Ph.D. Candidate, Graduate Center of CUNY
  • Research Interests :     Dynamical Systems, Complex Analysis

Iyer, Uma      Professor 

  • Office:     CP 122
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5377
  • Email address:      uma.iyer@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Indiana University (1999)
  • Research Interest :     Algebra

Kabak, Bertram      Professor  

  • Office:     CP 322
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5481
  • Email address:     bertram.kabak@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Yeshiva University

Kheyfits, Alexander       Professor 

  • Office:     CP 111
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5616
  • Email address:     alexander.kheyfits@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:      Ph.D.  Rostov St. University (1973)
  • Research Interests :    Complex Analysis, Potential Theory

Kim, Jason       Lecturer 

  • Office:     CP 124
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5322
  • Email address:     jasonkim800@gmail.com
  • Education:      B.A. Computer Science, Queens College, CUNY (1984)
  • Research Interest :    Math and Computer Science Education

Kossak, Roman       Professor 

 

Laul, Parul      Assistant Professor

  • Office:    CP 123
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-3563
  • Email address:    parul.laul@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:      Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2011)
  • Research Interests :     Partial Differential Equations, General Relativity

Leibman, George      Associate Professor

  • Office: CP 317
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5414
  • Email address:    gleibman@acedsl.com
  • Web page
  • Education:      Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2004)
  • Research Interests :     Set Theory, Large Cardinals, Forcing

McInerney, Andrew    Professor  

  • Office:     CP 315
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5411
  • Email address:     andrew.mcinerney@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:      Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University (1994)
  • Research Interests :    Differential Geometry, Contact/Symplectic Topology

Messaoudene, Mohamed      Professor  (On sabbatical in Fall 2014)

  • Office:     CP 115
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5378
  • Email address:     mohamed.messaoudene@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:      Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1988)
  • Research Interests :     Geometric Measure Theory/Minimal Surfaces

Novak, Natalia      Assistant Professor 

  • Office:    CP 122
  • Office Phone:    (718) 289-5100 ext. 3413
  • Email address:      natalia.novak@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2009)

Ojakian, Kerry     Assistant Professor

  • Office:     CP 120
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5478
  • Email address:     kerry.ojakian@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Carnegie Mellon University (2004)
  • Research Interests :   Logic, Computability, Combinatorics

O'Sullivan, Cormac      Professor (On sabbatical in Fall 2014 and Spring 2015)

  • Office:     CP 317
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5413
  • Email address:    cormac.osullivan@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:      Ph.D. Columbia University (1998)
  • Research Interests :     Number Theory, Automorphic Forms

Persinger, Sharon      Associate Professor 

  • Office:     CP 312
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5384
  • Email address:    sharon.persinger@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:    Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (1991)
  • Research Interests :     Computer Science, Coding Theory, Computational Geometry, Group Theory

Petrovic, Ivan      Associate Professor    

  • Office:     CP 319
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5385
  • Email address:     ivan.petrovic@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:    Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (1998)
  • Research Interests :     Complex Analysis, Dynamic Systems, Teichmuller Theory, Riemann Surfaces

Pineiro, Jorge      Associate Professor 

  • Office:     CP 311
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5407
  • Email address:     jorge.pineiro@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:    Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2005)
  • Research Interests :     Number Theory, Algebraic Geometry

Psarelli, Maria      Professor 

  • Office:     CP 112
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5375
  • Email address:     maria.psarelli@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, NYU (1995)
  • Research Interests :     Partial Differential Equation, Differential Geometry, Mathematical Physics

Rothmaler, Philipp     Professor 

  • Office:     CP 321 (back)
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5100 ext. 5028
  • Email address:    philipp.rothmaler@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Humboldt Universitaet zu Berlin (1982)
  • Research Interests :     Model Theory and Algebra (especially Model Theory of Modules)
 

Taylor, Karen      Associate Professor

  • Office:     CP 308A
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-3411
  • Email address:    karen.taylor@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. Temple University (2006)
  • Research Interests :     Analytic Number Theory, Automorphic Forms

 


Togha, Amir      Associate Professor 

  • Office:     CP 121
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5131
  • Email address:    amir.togha@yahoo.com
  • Education:     Ph.D. George Washington University (2004)
  • Research Interest :     Mathematical Logic
 

Wang, Zhe     Assistant Professor

  • Office:     CP 321 
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5408
  • Email address:    zhe.wang@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (2011)
  • Research Interests :     Teichmuller Space, Quasiconformal Maps and Dynamical Systems

Weaver, Anthony      Professor  (Deputy Chair)

  • Office:     CP 123
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5462
  • Email address:     anthony.weaver@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Web page
  • Education:     Ph.D. Graduate Center of CUNY (1997)
  • Research Interests :     Riemann Surfaces, Moduli and Teichmuller Spaces, Group Theory, Number Theory

Yom, Peter      Professor

  • Office:     CP 107
  • Office Phone:     (718) 289-5370
  • Email address:      peter.yom@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     Ph.D. University of Connecticut (1990)
  • Research Interests :     Infinite Abelian Group Theory, Butler Groups

Zybert, Suzanne     Lecturer

  • Office:     CP 111
  • Office Phone:    
  • Email address:     suzanne.zybert@bcc.cuny.edu
  • Education:     M.A. Mathematics Education, Lehman College, CUNY (2011)
  • Research Interest :   Mathematics Education
 
 
 
Substitute lecturers and current adjunct faculty

The Adjunct Faculty Office is CP 306 with office phone (718) 289-5326. The faculty names below are given as Lastname, Firstname with corresponding email addresses Firstname.Lastname@bcc.cuny.edu

  • Antwi, Augustin
  • Bandar, Patrick
  • Bega, Aneta
  • Bega, Julian
  • Belilgne, Fitsum
  • Castillo, Rafael
  • Castillo, Raisa
  • Cichon, Michael
  • Collado, Fausto
  • Diaz-chea, Susan
  • Dick, Leonard
  • Din, Javed
  • Dillworth, Faye
  • Diop, Aliou
  • Fadumiye, Gabriel
  • Ferguson, Rodley
  • Fernandez, Ted
  • Fuchs, Eric
  • Galland, Pierre

 

  • Gorelishvili, Albert
  • Gorr, Allison
  • Guerrero, Gino
  • Hemmings, Clement
  • Hercule, Marie
  • Idrissou, Halid
  • Ingrassia, Christopher
  • Jones, Femi
  • Jones, Winslow
  • Joseph, Jennifer
  • Kakrada, Stephen
  • Kasper, Toni
  • Kaunis, Orhan
  • Kim, Hyunjung
  • Kundu, Goutam
  • Lacay, Juan
  • Lee, Timothy
  • Levy, Alan
  • Martinez, Hector

 

  • McIntosh, David
  • Mendez-de_la_cruz, Amilcar
  • Miasnikov, Nikita
  • Mujica, Pedro
  • Nowicka, Kamilla
  • Penton, Nathan
  • Pomirchi, Leonid
  • Rasaq, Ramon
  • Samuel, John
  • Santiago, Freddy
  • Siegel, Marshall
  • Wachtel, Ted
  • Wally, Mamudu
  • Wang, Chih-huei
  • Wann, Hassimiou
  • Woo, Jeffrey
  • Yu, Dong
  • Zaderman, Vitaly
  • Zenelaj, Diana

 

 

List of Professor Emeriti and Retirees